2019 Notary Public State Exam Schedule, California

To obtain a Notary public commission, an applicant must meet certain requirements set by the Secretary of State’s office (see handbook) and pass a state-administered exam to verify that the applicant has in-depth knowledge regarding the laws and regulations affecting notary public services. The Notary Public Section has contracted with Cooperative Personnel Service (CPS HR) to conduct its regularly scheduled examinations at established test centers throughout the state of California. Please use the form below to find a State Exam in your area.

Reminder: 3 or 6-Hour Required Training

Before you are eligible to take the state-administered exam a candidate must have passed a 3 or 6-hour course of study.  If you have yet to complete this step please sign up for one of our online course below and be sure to bring your proof of completion certificate with you.

Become A Notary

View Classes & Options

(Required for new notaries or notaries who’s license has expired or will expire before they take the state exam.)

Renewal Course

View Classes & Options

(For current licensed Notary’s only. Please note, if your license will expire before you take the state exam you will need the 6-hour course.)

Prior to taking the Notary State Exam

It is recommended that the applicant review the Notary Public Handbook.

Allow plenty of travel time and bring the following items to the Notary State Exam:

  • A current photo identification (e.g. California Driver’s License or Identification Card issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles);
  • A complete current Notary Public Application form;
  • A 2″ x 2″ color passport photo of yourself;
  • The Proof of Completion certificate of your six-hour or three-hour approved education course;
  • The registration confirmation letter; and
  • The $40.00 exam and application processing fee (or $20.00 exam fee for applicants who previously took the exam and failed). Payment must be by check or money order made payable to the Secretary of State (cash is not accepted at the exam site).

Notary State Exam results will be available 15 business days after the examination. CPS HR Consulting will mail the exam results to applicants. A score of at least 70 is required to pass the exam. Exam results will not be discussed over the telephone.

Successful applicants (those receiving a score of at least 70) will have their applications transmitted to the Secretary of State for processing.

Each applicant not receiving a score of at least 70 will be sent their original application and re-take voucher with the fail notice. The examination may be re-taken, but may not be taken more than once in the same calendar month.

Checks returned by the financial institution upon which they were drawn are subject to a return fee and may be grounds for notary public application processing delay or notary public commission cancellation. (Government Code section 8204.1.)

Register For The State Exam

Once you have completed your required training you will need to register for the California Notary State Exam.  Please be sure to registure at least 15-days prior to the exam date in order to gurantee your spot. All exams are conducted by CPS HR, and their sechdule is controlled by CPS HR in cordination with the SOS. Walk-in registration is allowed on a space-available, “first come, first served” basis. Walk-in candidates will be admitted into the test center after all pre-registered applicants have been admitted. Walk-in registration IS NOT guaranteed.